Ok…Now I'm a Little Angry

Unoriginality bores me. Except when someone steals my blog’s title, logo and more. Check out this poor copy of the FWJ website.

It’s using FWJ to send people to Get-a -Freelancer. Please help me spread the word that these scammers are in no way affiliated with FWJ.



  1. Hi Deb,

    So sorry you’ve been copied–the sincerest sort of flattery under different circumstances.

    After reviewing the job listings on the copycat site, it’s apparent that the operation is either offshore (as in Asia) or run by someone who’s trying to appeal to the cheap help who work there.

    Given that the leads on the copycat site are awful ($2 for 500 words?), I wouldn’t worry too much about your faithful readers–no one in North America will touch their leads.

    I did a “whois” search for the site and this is what it uncovered:

    Domain Name: articleswritingwork4freelancewriters.com
    Registrar: Spot Domain LLC

    Expiration Date: 2009-12-08 00:00:00
    Creation Date: 2008-12-08 09:58:03

    Name Servers:

    Protected Domain Services
    125 Rampart Way
    Suite 300
    Email Address: [email protected]com

    Protected Domain Services
    125 Rampart Way
    Suite 300

    Obviouisly, they’re trying to hide who they are.

    According to the following article, you can contact Protected Domain Services and/or hostgator.com, Google and Yahoo! search engines, and advertisers on the site to protest obvious plagiarism:


    It’s a pain and a shame that you have to deal with such nonsense during your holidays but good luck!


  2. This is ridiculous and pathetic. I’m so sorry, Deb. I’ll do what I can to help spread the word.


  3. What’s wrong with people? Imitation may well be the most sincere form of flattery, but this is just trading on your amazing reputation to bolster themselves. Hopefully there are enough people to spread the word and prevent people from being taken in by, basically, rip-off merchants – if they can steal your web design, who knows what they’re capable of.

    I, for one, will certainly warn anyone I can about this.

    Sarah x

  4. That is really horrible, you must be livid. I hope he/she will redesign their site, maybe there’s something you could do from a legal standpoint.

  5. One word will solve all of your problems: Googlebomb.

  6. Hi Deb,

    I am so sorry this has happened to you and your wonderful site. I’ll get the word out to as many people too.

  7. It’s me again. I just posted my rant on my website and will be sending the link to my writing groups.


  8. Why give them more hits? Post a screen shot here instead. By the way (and you probably know this already) but the graphics are no longer showing up on the scam site.

    ~ Tracy

    PS: NO other site could ever compare to this one. :o)

  9. Hi Deb,

    I’m sorry this person felt they had to resort to copying your hard work, but truth be told, after reviewing the site I think it’s very clear it is not your work. This guy’s formatting is lazy and there just isn’t the professionalism that exudes from this site. I wouldn’t worry too much about it. It’s very obvious to your loyal readers that this copycat site isn’t worth the time of day.

  10. I’d be angry, too! I don’t know if it’s a coincidence, or not, but when I tried clicking on the link to check it out, it came up as “page unknown.” Maybe he decided it wasn’t worth it??

  11. Sad but not unexpected. Imitation IS the sincerest form of flattery.

    Now you KNOW you are successful. You are good enough to be copied.

  12. Did they change the site appearance? It doesn’t look like FWJ anymore. (Or I may be missing something!)

  13. I would highly suggest contacting the web hosting company that Bobbi suggested to get the site shut down.

  14. Thanks Bobbi for the update on my website that it no longer is in imitation of FWJ.

  15. The best thing about it is the plethora of misspelling and grammar mistakes on a site that advertises “no skills needed other than writing with a proper grammar.” Its sad that they copied you in the first place, but now that they have to stand on their own, I can see why they had to do it.

  16. Nothing on the site looks like a copycat now, so I’d have to assume they changed something.

  17. They obviously couldn’t even hire their own proofreader, let alone find jobs for them.

Speak Your Mind


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

CommentLuv badge

Content Freelance Writing Gigs
FWJ is read by many thousand readers every day. We offer a free weekly newsletter with all the top stories - come join the community!