Freelance Writing Jobs for April 9, 2009

washington-coffee

Up very early to post leads today, but refreshed after taking the day off yesterday. I recommend everyone take a day off once in a while and just unplug. No laptop, no gadgets, just family. What a great day! It was a good reminder that we all need to reward ourselves once in a while. It can mean a 15 minute coffee break or an hour for a good book. For me it was taking a day off to have some one on one mommy kid time.  Taking time for you can mean a world of difference.

Slim pickings today – perhaps because of holidays/spring break.

Leads…

Hope you have a good day!

Move Beyond Blogging!

Click here to search for jobs in your area on SnagAJob.com

Tweet this post!!

Comments

  1. Matt says:

    Online Freelance Writing – .10/word

    This is our friend/scam artist Alexis Tilman.

    http://www.shoutpost.com/read/TangoFoxtrot/56283/scammed

  2. Pat says:

    Regarding the Online Freelance Writing – .10/word, that is a scam. I’ve seen it before. As best I remember (I didn’t check it out again this time) they try to get you to buy a book. I remember it was going to cost rather than pay – never a good sign!!!

  3. It seems like pickings have been slim all over the web this week.

    I comb Craigslist, Poe War, Freelance Job Openings, this site and Writer’s Weekly.

    Any other suggestions?

    I’ve been trying to get a foot in the door with some of the creative talent agencies in Portland OR – anyone have a positive story to share working with a placement agency like that?

    Happy writing everyone!

  4. Melissa says:

    Thanks for the leads, Deb.

    I applied to one (that .10/word ad) and received an e-mail saying that I need to write a 50- to 100-word site review as part of their screening procedure. Have any of you ever had a good experience with an employer that required something like this? Or do you think they’re all pretty much asking for free work?

    Thanks
    Melissa

  5. Janet says:

    That “Alexis Tilman” post is a scam. After they get enough “samples” they sell them to a content provider. Don’t do it.

  6. Melissa says:

    Hi again,

    Ah, I see that some of you already commented on this. Ignore my question, and thanks for helping me not waste more of my time.

    Melissa

  7. Anne G. says:

    Re: Alexis Tilman

    This scam’s been running for a number of months and it’s not always about the articles. What they often want is for you to sign up for an account so that they get their commission.

    I contacted eHarmony about this and they have their staff looking into it. The person/people who do this are breaking their affiliate contract and eHarmony was thankful I brought it to their attention. They said the more information they receive, the higher the chances that they can catch and then either fine or ban the affiliate behind it.

  8. Anne G. says:

    If anyone’s in the NYC area and wants a job at HarperCollins, I was just talking to one of their editors and they’re hiring. I’d love the job, but I’m in Vermont and moving to Manhattan isn’t an option.

    The Freelance Assistant Online Editor will support the Senior Online Managing Editor with tasks such as copyediting, customer support, and web production.

    Responsibilities

    · Scheduling delivery of content

    · Copyediting content

    · Coordinating training of users

    · Production of web content, including photos, videos, and text

    · Proofreading and checking marketing copy and designed layouts for sweepstakes, features, newsletters, and announcements

    · Working with blogs and RSS feeds

    · Moderating e-mail feedback and coordinating responses

    Qualifications

    · 3–5 years of experience working in an online capacity; experience at a company focused on media and/or publishing is a plus

    · Must be comfortable online and with new social networking sites, as well as with standard Microsoft software such as Word and Excel

    · Ideal candidate has experience with Photoshop and basic understanding of HTML

    · Excellent English-language skills (including mastery of spelling, grammar, and punctuation); familiarity with publishing-industry standards is helpful

    · Must be detail-oriented and organized, and a team player with excellent communication and problem-solving skills

    · Must be flexible and enjoy working in a dynamic environment

    To apply please email your resume, cover letter, and salary requirements to jobs@harpercollins.com with the subject line DG-FAOE.

  9. Chris says:

    A couple of things that were a tip off on that .10/word ad: I am suspicious of any company called “Freelance Writing Co.” It seems that any time I run into a company with such an obvious, generic name it’s a scam or at least a sketchy business. So I try to avoid any companies with names like “ArticleWriting.com” “WorkatHome.com” etc. Also the Gmail email address is another thing that is suspicious. If they were a legitimate business why don’t they have a business email? Finally, the Work-at-Home style site where they advertise a full-time salary for working at home always seems less than legitimate.

    I hadn’t run into this particular scam before, but those are a few things that tipped me off right away. I just thought I’d share since it can be tough to learn the signs when you’re first starting out.

  10. JulieF says:

    Pickings might be slim, but I landed two gigs after a dry spell by scouring CL, not just US, but global. Even the CL’s that are not in English have listings in english.

    One job I found is Canada based, but posted in Mexico. The other is based in Aus, but posted in France. Go figure!

  11. Lori says:

    Anne G, I appreciate the HarperCollins tip — especially because it doesn’t seem to be listed on their website yet! I’m moving to NYC next month and was hoping to find some steady work. As an editor working on an M.S. in Info Tech, this looks perfect. Many thanks!

  12. T-Sonn says:

    Another question for you all – I have a gig I bid for through Elance, the client wants me to agree to submit the articles to Buzzle. He says he will only release the escrow funds as payment when Buzzle accepts the articles. Is this kosher?

  13. Kenna says:

    Yes, it has slowed down for me. It’s a great week to catch up with spring cleaning and such.

  14. Anne G. says:

    @Lori – You’re welcome. I run a review site and the editors I deal with are fantastic people. When I heard of it, I figured someone might take advantage of it, even if I couldn’t!

  15. Tricia Goss says:

    Just wanted to say how much I enjoy all the different coffee pics. Very cute! (Thanks for the job postings, as well)

  16. Anne G. says:

    I’ve noticed a slow-down myself. But got news today that my biggest client, No-Limit Linking, informed their editors this morning that they are out of work. So now I’m in a panic to find a replacement that pays somewhere in the same ballpark.

  17. Has anyone ever heard of oDesk, or gotten work through them? They seem legit, but their sign up process is pretty involved and includes a tutorial quiz- just want to make sure it’s worth my time.

    Thanks and happy writing everyone!

  18. Meghna says:

    Thanks everyone for pointing out the scam,I was just about to begin working on the sample article, I am that much outta work right now. :(

    @Matsya : Odesk is a great site, even though a bit complicated to start up. I have been working on it for over a year now, and have found quite a few clients. Unlike other bid sites, there are no membership fees at all, and even finding work is easy. I had landed my first ever job there after just a couple of weeks of joining. Hope it works for you.

  19. Meghna says:

    Thanks for pointing out the scam everyone. I was just about to get started on the sample article, I am that much outta work :(

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge
Content Freelance Writing Gigs
FWJ is read by many thousand readers every day. We offer a free weekly newsletter with all the top stories - come join the community!